Professor Richard Wong & Others’ proposal

Professor Richard Wong & Others’ proposal

Power to nominate
  • The Nominating Committee


Size of the Nominating Committee


  • 2400 members
Composition of the Nominating Committee
  • Composed of 4 sectors with not more than 600 members in each sector
  • Composed by 1) members elected with reference to the current Election Committee (1200 members in total) and; 2) additional members elected according to the sector (1200 members in total)
  • Members elected with reference to the current Election Committee
    • Elected according to the procedures of the 4 sectors and 38 sub-sectors of the Election Committee
    • Election conducted by the Electoral Affairs Commission (EAC)
    • Voters of each sectors will be ascertained by the EAC and published
  • Additional members elected according to the sector
    • To be a member under this category, an individual must:
      1. Be a registered voter
      2. Receive the necessary endorsement
        • Obtaining the nomination of 1/300 of those eligible to vote in the sector as ascertained by the EAC
      3. Obtain the necessary votes
        • Receiving 2500 votes from registered voters, whereupon one becomes a member of the Nominating Committee
    • Should not exceed 300 members per sector
Electorate base of the Nominating Committee


Method of nominating CE candidates


  • Any person who seeks to become CE candidate must be endorsed by not less than 10% of members of the Nominating Committee
  • The Nominating Committee will vote to determine the CE candidates, who must gain at least 20% of all valid votes
  • The number of CE candidates should be in accordance with the conclusion of the government consultation (i.e. 2-4 CE candidates)


Election method for the CE


  • Two-round, run-off voting system
    • A candidate is elected as the Chief Executive by wining more than 50% of the valid votes
    • If no candidate wins more than 50%, a run-off election shall be held between the two highest-placed candidates
    • The candidate who gets more votes shall be returned as Chief Executive-Elect