ABOUT DESIGN DEMOCRACY

Who should have the power to nominate Chief Executive candidates? Does your vision of universal suffrage require all functional constituencies to be abolished from the Legislative Council? Design Democracy Hong Kong is a unique online platform that promotes constructive and inclusive dialogue on the future of Hong Kong’s political system. It also features an innovative decision tree that allows you to build your own proposal of universal suffrage and to tell others about it.
 
The Centre for Comparative and Public Law at the University of Hong Kong has closely followed political and constitutional reform issues in Hong Kong since it was established in 1995. Developing a system of universal suffrage is the most important political issue of the day for Hong Kong, as a special administrative region of China. With the government’s delay in commencing a public consultation and the public’s limited opportunity to have a say on these important matters, the Centre of Comparative and Public Law saw an opportunity to develop and launch the Design Democracy website with the aim of promoting a constructive community-based discussion about political reform in Hong Kong.
 
The website has two main features:

(1) The “Design Your Democracy” section illustrates and explains the key features of electoral design and allows the general public to show their preferences and come up with their own design for Hong Kong’s future democratic electoral systems. By completing the decision tree, individuals can construct their own vision of what they believe a democratic Hong Kong should look like. In stage one of the website launch, users will be able to design models of universal suffrage for the selection of the Chief Executive in 2017. Stage two will enable users to construct a democratic vision of Legislative Council elections. Results can be easily shared across a number of social media platforms or sent directly to government (once the consultation begins).

(2) The “Forum” section provides a space for users to share their views and interact with each other on particular issues or proposals. Visitors can also listen to opinions from other concerned individuals and groups on a particular issue.
 
The website will also be a place where the public can find out more about the latest news and developments in Hong Kong political reform and read background information on the development of democracy in the HKSAR in the “News” and “Knowledge” sections of the website. Users of the website agree to abide by a Code of Conduct and accept the terms of the Disclaimer.

 

Join the discussion now! Have your say on democratic development in Hong Kong!

关於港人讲普选

谁有提名特首候选人的权利?你的理想普选方案是取消功能组别及立法会全面直选吗? 香港大学比较法与公法研究中心自1995年成立以来一直密切关注香港的政制发展及改革问题。发展一套普选制度是香港作为中国的特别行政区最重要的政治问题。有鉴於政府还未就普选问题开始公众谘询,而社会上讨论平台亦有限,比较法与公法研究中心决定开发并推出「港人讲普选」网站,让社会各界就政改的各个重点议题,展开建设性讨论。

 

港人讲普选是一个独一无二的网上公众参与的平台,你不单可以就以上议题表达意见,并可以根据民主原则为香港设计你的理想普选方案及跟他人分享你的设计。

 

本网站有两大特点:

1. 「设计你想方案」 以问卷形式列出有关特首及立法会选举机制的主要问题,让你针对设计选举制度的各个方面表达意见,并创作出个人认为最理想的普选方案。在网站开通的初期,「设计你想方案」将收集市民对普选行政长官选举制度的意见。稍後,我们将会开放有关立法会选举的部分。届时你亦可就立法会的产生办法表达意见和创作方案。你可在社交网站上分享你所设计的普选方案。你也可直接将你的方案发送到政府。

2. 你可以在「讨论区」就个别与政改息息相关的议题与其他网站使用者交换意见,也可以观看不同人士及团体就个别政改议题发表意见的影片。

你也可以在「新闻消息」和「相关资讯」浏览有关政改的新闻报道,和了解香港政制发展的历史背景。网站的使用者同意遵守使用守则,并接受免责声明的条款。
 

你想民主, 我地有SAY!