Developing a system of universal suffrage is the most important political issue facing the Hong Kong S.A.R. today. Design Democracy Hong Kong is a unique online platform that promotes constructive dialogue on the future of Hong Kong’s political system. Inspired by the delayed implementation of the public consultation, it provides a more open, alternative space for the collection of ideas. This is a non-partisan project sponsored by The University of Hong Kong’s Centre for Public and Comparative Law, a non-profit virtual research centre in the HKU Faculty of Law. Users of the website agree to abide by a Code of Conduct and accept the terms of a Disclaimer.

Design Democracy Hong Kong has several major features. First, it includes an innovative decision tree that allows you to build your own proposal for universal suffrage and tell others about it. Second, it hosts a public forum for users to share their views and interact. In addition, visitors can listen to and comment on interviews from our special guests, research background information, and review the latest developments.


The Centre for Comparative and Public Law (CCPL) was established in 1995. Its goals include advancing knowledge of public law and human rights issues, and facilitating knowledge exchange with the community. CCPL has organized The Hong Kong Political Reform Series since 2009, a conference series that promotes dialogue on political reform among different sectors of the Hong Kong community, including citizens, politicians, academics, and think-tanks.

Former CCPL Director Professor Simon Young provides leadership and vision for this project. Its implementation is made possible by lead Research Assistant, Ms. Gardenia Kwok. Thanks are also due to student research assistants, CCPL interns and Research Officer Sharron Fast who has managed the project since inception. Our Advisory Group has also made significant contributions. Special thanks are also due to our partners in the Hong Kong Political Reform Series and the National Democratic Institute for International Affairs.

Student Research Assistants: Steven Lee, Thomas Lee, Jackie Lai, Christina King, Hilda Leung, Kurt Ng, Tommy Young, Steven Lee, Jonathan Chan, Grace Choksuwanlert Rattikan, Edward Poon

Volunteer: Jason Buhi

CCPL interns: Dana Harada, Marianne Wei, Gordon Chan

Advisory Group: Professors Richard Cullen, Albert Chen, Sonny Lo, Eliza Lee, Ming Sing, Michael Degolyer, and Assistant Professor Peter Chau. Jenny Eagleton and Paul Serfaty

Contact Us (designdemocracyhk@gmail.com)